TEM Consulting, LP

About Us Services
Publications Services


WEST 2002
Workshop on Election Standards and Technology

January 31 - February 1, 2002
American Association for the Advancement of Science
1200 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20005

Presentations by Stephen Berger

  • Standardizing Integrity, Secrecy, and Robustness
  • IEEE Standards Principles, Standards Board, & Support

    Thursday, January 31

    8:45 - 10:15 am (Panel 1):

    The Current Election Systems Standards Process
    Moderator: Dr. Charles Stewart, MIT
    Penelope Bonsall, FEC
    Deborah Davis, U.S. General Accounting Office
    Louis Dedier, California's Secretary of State Office
    David Elliott, Washington's Secretary of State Office
    Eric Fischer, CRS
    Roy Saltman, Consultant on Election Policy and Technology
    Brit Williams, NASED

    10:30 - noon (Panel 2, Pt 1):

    Standardizing Integrity, Secrecy, and Robustness (Pt 1)
    Moderator: Dr. David Chaum
    Kim Alexander, California Voter Foundation
    Steve Berger, IEEE
    Lou Chavez, Underwriters Laboratories, Inc.
    Ed Gerck, SafeVote
    Rebecca Mercuri
    Jim Adler, VoteHere
    Robert Richie, Center for Voting and Democracy
    Ed Rodriguez, Booz-Allen
    Bill Welsh, Election Systems & Software

    12:00 - 1:00 pm - Lunch

    1:00 - 2:00 pm (Panel 2, Pt 2):

    Standardizing Integrity, Secrecy, and Robustness (Pt 2)

    2:10 - 3:30 pm (Panel 3):

    Standardizing Accuracy and User Interface
    Moderator: Dr. Ted Selker, MIT
    John Cugini, NIST
    Paul S. Herrnson
    Doug Jones, University of Iowa
    Cliff Nass, Stanford

    3:40 - 5:00 pm (Panel 4):

    Procedures for Establishing Standards
    Moderator: Dr. Erik Antonsson, Caltech
    Steve Berger, IEEE
    Dave Karmol, ANSI
    Doug Lewis, The Election Center
    Terance Losonsky, NIAC
    Conny McCormack, L.A. County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk
    Gregg McGilvray, Member of Election and Voter Services Technical Committee, OASIS
    Miles Smid, CEAG, CygnaCom

    Friday, February 1

    8:45 - noon:

    Wrap-up and Briefing led by Steve Ansolabehere, MIT and Tom Palfrey, Caltech


    WEST 2002 was sponsored by the Caltech-MIT/Voting Technology Project
    through a grant from the National Science Foundation
    and hosted by the American Association for the Advancement of Science

TEM Consulting, LP
140 River Rd
Georgetown, Tx. 78628
(512) 864-3365 - Phone
(512) 869-8709 - FAX
© Copyrigth 2012, TEM Consulting.